NFL Draft 2016 Preview

Filename: nfl-draft-2016-preview.pdf
ISBN: 9780879466435
Release Date: 2016-03-17
Number of pages: 85
Author: Nolan Nawrocki
Publisher: ACTA Publications

Download and read online NFL Draft 2016 Preview in PDF and EPUB Written by longtime Pro Football Weekly lead draft analyst Nolan Nawrocki, NFL Draft 2016 Preview is the most reliable and comprehensive guide to the NFL draft. Nawrocki produced the draft guide under the Pro Football Weekly brand for more than a decade, and the annual publication came to be regarded as the "Bible of the draft" by pro personnel, agents, and fans. This draft preview provides the detailed scouting reports, rankings, and position-by-position analysis that readers have come to rely on. Featuring detailed evaluations of more than 300 prospects, this 2016 edition includes fresh "buzz" from the NFL's scouting trails, Nawrocki's rankings of the top prospects at each position, and the latest combine measurables on each prospect.


NFL Draft 2017

Filename: nfl-draft-2017.pdf
ISBN: 9780879466503
Release Date: 2017-04-01
Number of pages: 192
Author: Nolan Nawrocki
Publisher: ACTA Publications

Download and read online NFL Draft 2017 in PDF and EPUB Regarded in NFL circles as one of the nation’s leading independent draft analysts, spending thousands of hours evaluating talent each season, NolanNawrocki’s vast network of contacts allows him to gather intelligence regarding NFL prospects that is unparalleled in the industry. His annual book contains in-depth information on some 350 players eligible for the draft, with the history, strengths, and weaknesses of each player clearly documented. Nawrocki also quotes other scouts on their opinions of individual players and gives probable draft rounds in which they will be drafted and even some teams they would fit best. He ranks the top ten players at each position on both offense and defense and gives the latest measurables available from both the Combine and individual pro days. Nawrocki led Pro Football Weekly’s draft coverage from 2003 to 2013, then independently took over the writing and research on this book in the grand tradition of the iconic football analyst Joel Buchsbaum.


CRAPSHOOT THE NFL DRAFT

Filename: crapshoot-the-nfl-draft.pdf
ISBN: 1478779683
Release Date: 2017-01-18
Number of pages: 348
Author: David V. Gray
Publisher: Outskirts Press

Download and read online CRAPSHOOT THE NFL DRAFT in PDF and EPUB Crapshoot is the encyclopedia of the modern NFL draft. The NFL is the most popular sport in America, and outside of the Super Bowl, the NFL Draft has become the second-most watched NFL event. Crapshoot-The NFL Draft: 1967-2017 celebrates the 50th anniversary of the first common draft held in 1967. It is the most complete and comprehensive interpretation and history of the NFL Draft. The book looks at how the draft has grown and addresses the question why some drafted players succeed while others fail. It also assesses each draft class-the steals and busts, the bests and worsts of the draft. Have you ever wondered what the best and worst first-round draft class is? How about the best and worst second-round draft class? The best and worst top five picks? Top ten picks? The best and worst offensive draft class and defensive draft class? The best and worst quarterback, running back, and wide receiver class? The best and worst team first-round picks? If you're a fan of the NFL Draft, this book is for you.


On the Clock

Filename: on-the-clock.pdf
ISBN: 9781630761028
Release Date: 2015-04-01
Number of pages: 220
Author: Barry Wilner
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

Download and read online On the Clock in PDF and EPUB The NFL draft features no action on the field. No passing, running, tackling, or kicking. Hey, there isn't even a field. Yet the draft has become more popular than many other sporting events, including the NBA and NHL playoff games, against which it goes head-to-head for viewers. In fact, the draft has spawned its own cottage industry in which names such as Gil Brandt, Mel Kiper Jr., and Mike Mayock have become as well known as any of the first-round selections. In On the Clock, Barry Wilner and Ken Rappoport chronicle the history of the proceedings. The veteran sportswriters take you from the first grab bag in 1936, when Philadelphia chose Heisman Trophy winner Jay Berwanger of the University of Chicago only for him to decline to play in the NFL, to the 2014 draft—considered one of the deepest in talent ever. Along the 78-year journey, learn about the competitions for the top overall spot (Peyton Manning vs. Ryan Leaf), the unhappy No. 1s (John Elway and Tom Cousineau), the big flops (JaMarcus Russell), and the late-rounders-turned-superstars (Tom Brady). Meet the draft wizards, from Paul Brown to Bill Walsh and Jimmy Johnson, and read about the draft whiffs that cost personnel executives their jobs. On the Clock takes you behind the scenes at one of pro football’s most suspenseful annual events.


The Bill James Handbook 2017

Filename: the-bill-james-handbook-2017.pdf
ISBN: 9780879466480
Release Date: 2016-11-04
Number of pages: 600
Author: Bill James
Publisher: ACTA Publications

Download and read online The Bill James Handbook 2017 in PDF and EPUB Bill James and the Baseball Info Solutions team of analysts continue to pack in new content, including a fresh look at the continued rise and effectiveness of The Shift and a new breakdown of home runs and long flyouts. And, as always, the book forecasts fresh hitter and pitcher projections for those looking to get an early jump on the next season.


Dtp s 2017 NFL Draft Guide

Filename: dtp-s-2017-nfl-draft-guide.pdf
ISBN: 154424326X
Release Date: 2017-03-08
Number of pages: 316
Author: Daniel Parlegreco
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

Download and read online Dtp s 2017 NFL Draft Guide in PDF and EPUB The Best 2017 Draft Guide Out There! The Most Honest, Unbiased and Completely Raw NFL Draft Guide on the Market Today With 250 + prospects in this guide and 80,000 words written, I believe I did just that. I think you will be pleasantly surprised by the in-depth analysis, grades, and player fits on each and every single player in this year's guide. I even includes all the up-to-date sizes and measurements from the combine for each player. But why should you buy THIS guide, and who exactly am I? Well I'm a normal guy just like you, except that I watch college football tape for fun, and write pages and pages of notes on almost every single eligible player for the draft. Yes, you can say I'm a dork. I also write my reports in such a way that everyone can understand, even the casual football fan. I don't use fancy scout lingo or terms that make you wonder -what the heck is he talking about?- I've been doing this for 5 years now, and I've hit a lot more on players then I miss. I write for multiple publications and have been recognized by many when it comes to my draft evaluations. The other thing that separates me is I don't write or grade players based on what the -talking heads- on TV or on the internet say about players. I come to my own conclusions, whether popular or unpopular. Of course I'm wrong on occasion like every single evaluator out there, but I'm right A LOT. Just for instance, in December of 2015, I said Carson Wentz was the best QB in the 2016 NFL Draft. At the time, he was considered a late round draft pick by most. Many evaluators hadn't even heard of him yet, others blasted me and said -I'm crazy and he's an undraftable guy coming from FCS level North Dakota State.- That is just 1 small example. I can't promise you that I'll be right on all these players, but I can promise you that every single player in this guide I came to my own opinion about after watching the tape. I had no pre-conceived ideas about any of these players, nor do I have a college football team affiliation. I'm not biased, nor am I non-objectionable. With that being said, I'm more excited then ever about this draft class. There is so much depth at so many positions, it is hard to find a 'weak' spot in this draft. Some will say 'QB' but I disagree wholeheartedly. I think there could easily be 3 franchise QB's in this draft class. Let's get into it my 2017 Draft Evaluations!


League of Denial

Filename: league-of-denial.pdf
ISBN: 9780770437558
Release Date: 2013-10-08
Number of pages: 432
Author: Mark Fainaru-Wada
Publisher: Three Rivers Press

Download and read online League of Denial in PDF and EPUB “PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL PLAYERS DO NOT SUSTAIN FREQUENT REPETITIVE BLOWS TO THE BRAIN ON A REGULAR BASIS.” So concluded the National Football League in a December 2005 scientific paper on concussions in America’s most popular sport. That judgment, implausible even to a casual fan, also contradicted the opinion of a growing cadre of neuroscientists who worked in vain to convince the NFL that it was facing a deadly new scourge: A chronic brain disease that was driving an alarming number of players -- including some of the all-time greats -- to madness. League of Denial reveals how the NFL, over a period of nearly two decades, sought to cover up and deny mounting evidence of the connection between football and brain damage. Comprehensively, and for the first time, award-winning ESPN investigative reporters Mark Fainaru-Wada and Steve Fainaru tell the story of a public health crisis that emerged from the playing fields of our 21st century pastime. Everyone knew that football is violent and dangerous. But what the players who built the NFL into a $10 billion industry didn’t know – and what the league sought to shield from them – is that no amount of padding could protect the human brain from the force generated by modern football; that the very essence of the game could be exposing these players to brain damage. In a fast-paced narrative that moves between the NFL trenches, America’s research labs and the boardrooms where the NFL went to war against science, League of Denial examines how the league used its power and resources to attack independent scientists and elevate its own flawed research -- a campaign with echoes of Big Tobacco’s fight to deny the connection between smoking and lung cancer. It chronicles the tragic fates of players like Hall of Fame Pittsburgh Steelers center Mike Webster, who was so disturbed at the time of his death he fantasized about shooting NFL executives; and former Chargers great Junior Seau, whose diseased brain became the target of an unseemly scientific battle between researchers and the NFL. Based on exclusive interviews, previously undisclosed documents and private emails, this is the story of what the NFL knew and when it knew it – questions at the heart of crisis that threatens football, from the highest levels all the way down to Pop Warner.


On the Clock

Filename: on-the-clock.pdf
ISBN: 9781683500414
Release Date: 2016-12-20
Number of pages: 184
Author: Tim Enochs
Publisher: Morgan James Publishing

Download and read online On the Clock in PDF and EPUB On the most important day of his life, quarterback sensation Adam Alford finds himself lost in a sea of people and cameras in the greenroom at the NFL Draft. He lost his mom in a violent storm when he was 10. After her death, his one- hit-wonder Country Music singer/songwriter dad was relegated to singing at a local roadside club as he struggled with alcohol, depression and the responsibility of raising Adam. With the uncommon influence of Adam’s agent, his girlfriend, and her mom, he and his dad found a way to make it. On the Clock outlines the simple principles of success that got Adam and his father through their trials, showing readers they they too can fight through adversity and achieve their own personal goals.


Why My Wife Thinks I m an Idiot

Filename: why-my-wife-thinks-i-m-an-idiot.pdf
ISBN: 9781588365125
Release Date: 2006-03-07
Number of pages: 240
Author: Mike Greenberg
Publisher: Villard

Download and read online Why My Wife Thinks I m an Idiot in PDF and EPUB Meet Mike Greenberg, the popular host of ESPN Radio’s Mike and Mike in the Morning, the highest-rated drive-time sports talk show on the dial. To his three-million-plus listeners, Greeny is the guy who’s equally as comfortable dissecting zone defenses as he is discussing cashmere sweaters. He’s been to Super Bowls and World Series, All-Star Games and Final Fours. He’s interviewed Michael Jordan, Joe Montana, and Wayne Gretzky. He gets paid to enthuse about sports, which means he’s the envy of most men in America. This is the hilarious, sometimes touching, and endlessly entertaining debut of one of America’s fastest-rising sportscasters, a wry and revealing look at one man’s good-hearted but mistake-prone attempt to grow up before his children do. Marriage, fatherhood, manhood, fame, athletes, crazed aunts with gambling problems, the true significance of sports, the worst possible thing to say in a room full of pregnant women–no topic is beyond his reach. But don’t take our word on it, read what Greeny has to say about: • Dating: “People who reminisce fondly about dating are blocking out all the disasters and focusing only on the few great nights. If that is all you choose to remember, fine. But be aware that no experience is without good moments. I’m sure during the sacking of Rome there were a few decent nights; maybe they put on a play.” • Life on the road: “Wife + television = no sleep.” “No wife + no television = no sleep.” “Wife + no television = sleep.” “No wife + television = porn.” • Keeping things in perspective: “Never assume you know more than the guy in the camouflage tux.” • And, of course, marriage: “All of us are married to women who think we’re idiots.” Whether he’s talking trash on the radio or talking dirty diapers over a fancy dinner, Greeny’s determined to reconcile two halves of a whole. So if your enthusiasm has ever been curbed, or you’re feeling remote without the remote, or you’re just wondering what exactly goes on in a guy’s brain, Why My Wife Thinks I’m an Idiot will be a source of comfort and unadulterated laughter. From the Hardcover edition.


The Rookie Handbook

Filename: the-rookie-handbook.pdf
ISBN: 9781682450352
Release Date: 2016-09-06
Number of pages: 176
Author: Ryan Kalil
Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Download and read online The Rookie Handbook in PDF and EPUB Congratulations, you just got drafted into the NFL. Now what? Here’s what’s ahead of you: rigorous training, complicated playbooks, financial conundrums, intense pressure to perform—and temptation. Welcome to the big leagues. Informative, smart, funny, and beautifully illustrated, The Rookie Handbook has everything NFL rookies need to know to survive their first season of pro football, straight from veterans Ryan Kalil, Jordan Gross, and Geoff Hangartner. The three authors have a combined thirty years of NFL experience, but they too were rookies themselves, once upon a time. Much like rookies, NFL fans only know what they see on TV or read—obsessively following Rich Eisen and scouring obscure blogs for fantasy football info. But when it comes to what goes on in the inner sanctum, behind the locker room doors, it’s a mystery. The Rookie Handbook is the insider’s guide to that exclusive club, pulling back the curtain to reveal how players act and think—and what they do when no one is watching.


Trading Bases

Filename: trading-bases.pdf
ISBN: 9781101609651
Release Date: 2013-03-07
Number of pages: 384
Author: Joe Peta
Publisher: Penguin

Download and read online Trading Bases in PDF and EPUB An ex–Wall Street trader improved on Moneyball’s famed sabermetrics and beat the Vegas odds with his own betting methods. Here is the story of how Joe Peta turned fantasy baseball into a dream come true. Joe Peta turned his back on his Wall Street trading career to pursue an ingenious—and incredibly risky—dream. He would apply his risk-analysis skills to Major League Baseball, and treat the sport like the S&P 500. In Trading Bases, Peta takes us on his journey from the ballpark in San Francisco to the trading floors and baseball bars of New York and the sportsbooks of Las Vegas, telling the story of how he created a baseball “hedge fund” with an astounding 41 percent return in his first year. And he explains the unique methods he developed. Along the way, Peta provides insight into the Wall Street crisis he managed to escape: the fragility of the midnineties investment model; the disgraced former CEO of Lehman Brothers, who recruited Peta; and the high-adrenaline atmosphere where million-dollar sports-betting pools were common.


Pages from Baseball s Past

Filename: pages-from-baseball-s-past.pdf
ISBN: 0879465158
Release Date: 2013-11-01
Number of pages: 231
Author: Craig R. Wright
Publisher: ACTA Publications

Download and read online Pages from Baseball s Past in PDF and EPUB Stories from baseball's past that most people have never heard, including the story of a mascot named "Baseball," who turned out to be a man's best friend. All the stories are written Craig T. Wright, the Dean of Baseball Storytellers, who has hosted a radio show and website of the same name for many years.


Their Life s Work

Filename: their-life-s-work.pdf
ISBN: 9781451691641
Release Date: 2013-10-29
Number of pages: 480
Author: Gary M. Pomerantz
Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Download and read online Their Life s Work in PDF and EPUB “The definitive book of the 1970s Pittsburgh Steelers” (Scott Brown, ESPN): A unique literary sports book that—through exquisite reportage, love, and honesty—tells the full story of the best team to ever play the game. The Pittsburgh Steelers of the 1970s won an unprecedented and unmatched four Super Bowls in six years. A dozen of those Steelers players, coaches, and executives have been inducted into the Hall of Fame, and three decades later their names echo in popular memory: “Mean” Joe Greene, Terry Bradshaw, Franco Harris, Mike Webster, Jack Lambert, Lynn Swann, and John Stallworth. In ways exhilarating and heartbreaking, they define not only the brotherhood of sports but those elements of the game that engage tens of millions of Americans: its artistry and its brutality. Drawing on hundreds of interviews, Their Life’s Work is a richly textured story of a team and a sport, what the game gave these men, and what the game took. It gave fame, wealth, and, above all, a brotherhood of players, twelve of whom died before turning sixty. To a man, they said they’d do it again, all of it. They bared the soul of the game to Gary Pomerantz, and he captured it wondrously. “Here is a book as hard-hitting and powerful as the ‘Steel Curtain’ dynasty that Pomerantz depicts so deftly. It’s the NFL’s version of The Boys of Summer, with equal parts triumph and melancholy. Pomerantz’s writing is strong, straightforward, funny, sentimental, and blunt. It’s as working class and gritty as the men he writes about” (The Tampa Tribune, Top 10 Sports Books of 2013).


Pro Football Guide

Filename: pro-football-guide.pdf
ISBN: 0892047755
Release Date: 2005-06-01
Number of pages: 447
Author: Sporting News
Publisher: Sporting News

Download and read online Pro Football Guide in PDF and EPUB Reviews the past season, lists schedules, team rosters, and statistics for regular season games, playoffs, and the Super Bowl


Return of the King

Filename: return-of-the-king.pdf
ISBN: 9781538759684
Release Date: 2017-04-11
Number of pages: 288
Author: Brian Windhorst
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Download and read online Return of the King in PDF and EPUB The inside story of LeBron James's return and ultimate triumph in Cleveland. What really happened when LeBron James stunned the NBA by leaving a potential dynasty in Miami to come home to play with the Cleveland Cavaliers? How did the Cavs use secret meetings to put together the deal to add star Kevin Love? Who really made the controversial decision to fire coach David Blatt when the team was in first place? Where did the greatest comeback in NBA history truly begin-and end? RETURN OF THE KING takes you onto the private planes, inside the locker-room conversations, and into the middle of the intense huddles where one of the greatest stories in basketball history took place, resulting in the Cavs winning the 2016 NBA title after trailing the Golden State Warriors three games to one. You'll hear from all the characters involved: the players, the executives, the agents, and the owners as they reveal stories never before told. Get the background on all the controversies, the rivalries, and the bad blood from two reporters who were there for every day, plot twist, and social media snafu as they take you through the fascinating ride that culminated in a heart-stopping Game Seven.